UNDERWATER WANDERLUST

So, Spring is finally here…hooray! I know, I know, it’s not the actual beginning of Spring, but it’s good enough for me. And do you know what that means? Endless hours spent outdoors, in pretty florals and sun hats, having picnics on the farm, days on the beach and plenty of time swimming, swimming and yes, more swimming – yay!

I’m very fortunate in that I live a mere five minutes from one of the most beautiful beaches in the area. It’s part of a nature conservancy, and therefore, is devoid of any meddlesome vendors, loud noisy beach bars, or massive crowds. It’s so peaceful, and pure, and I have such fond memories of days spent,as a teenagers, riding our horses down to the tidal pools, and spending hours swimming with them in the ocean. Such happy times.

Unfortunately back then, none of us had cameras, and often I think it would be so precious to have some of those memories caught on film. Anyway. Times have since changed, and I try to capture these special moments as often as possible.

One such moment (or series of moments) was at the end of last year – December 2011 to January 2012 – where the boy and I spent a month in Thailand. All I can say is, “Wow”, what a incredible experience! And yes, we somehow managed t take about 3000 photographs! Don’t worry, I’m not going to share all of them with you. Just  some of my favourites…underwater! Success! We spent so many hours in the water over there – swimming, snorkeling (amazing), and on numerous boat trips around the islands. We decided instead of buying an expensive underwater camera, and taking the risk of it getting damaged en route, we would rather buy a few underwater disposables. These were so much fun, and surprisingly, produced some pretty decent quality images. I have a slight obsession with film photography at the moment, so that grainy, dreamy effect was just what I was hoping we’d achieve. So if you’re ever wondering about whether or not to take a chance on one of those fellas…do it! They are definitely worth a shot!

Image

8 thoughts on “UNDERWATER WANDERLUST

  1. Pingback: MY BEACH-LOVING BOY | Hunt + Gather

Leave a Reply

